Goodbye 2010, Hello 2011!

Well, what a wonderful Christmas! Sorry I have been a little quiet of late, I have been renovating the house, working hard on some projects and then took 2 weeks off for the festive season to enjoy some good food, good wine and good company…

In 2010, I started this business properly, going from a part-time freelancer who had a part-time design, and taking the plunge going full time and forming Laurapakora Design. Since April, I have managed to pick up a few permanent ongoing clients, and a few one-off projects, got my portfolio website up and running, started and maintained this blog, and have been working in the background on a store, some ideas for personal work, and some more opportunities to gain some more clients.

This year, I have worked for the following businesses and clients:

Bliss Hair & Beauty Salon, Brixham, Devon
Boatographic, Torbay, Devon
Brixham Yacht Club, Brixham, Devon
Devon Carers Link
ISIT, Devon
Devon Learning Disability Carers
MCJ Marine, Torbay, Devon
Mischief Race Crew, Torbay, Devon
Euro Pipe, Cardiff, Wales
Shell Hair & Beauty Salon, Brixham, Devon
Westaway Sails, Devon
Yarningale Annexe, Moretonhampstead, Devon

I have also worked on a logo for Simply Syndicated, a 21st Century Media Company, for a new podcast they produced: Greatest Events in Sporting History, and entered a competition run by 5oup for Bombay Bicycle Club, where although I did not make it to the top ten, I had a respectable mount of votes!

Privately, I have been working on two projects, both based on old University projects, which I hope to take a lot further, more news about this at a later date… I have also worked on invites for a Christening, and a birthday.

I have been trying to renovate a letterpress for some more work, although it’s still not quite there yet… and have been taking as many photographs as is humanly possible. I have been experimenting with medium format with my Diana F+ (I do love squares…) and with a Canon 400D with several lenses.

Now for 2011…

I have some updated work in progress for some of the businesses above, which will hopefully coming into fruition in the early part of the year. I also have some new clients, and will be sharing this work soon. But this is not enough, and I will be working on some self promotional bits and pieces to gain a few more bits of work.

I will be updating the website very shortly, hopefully within the month, and following this I will be starting a newsletter. This will hopefully be followed by an online store, hopefully by the end of March.

Finally, I am hoping to spend some more time on some more personal work, and competitions, and taking more photos!

Please fell free to comment on the existing website as all opinions and views help! Thank you to all who have read my blog and supported me in 2010, and here’s to a prosperous, fun, healthy and happy new year.

TTFN,

Laura

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

