New shiny iMac

I have been in a full time freelancing designer for over a year now, and recently I have been taking stock of things, thinking about what has been working and what hasn’t, how I can improve my work, and what I need to continue…

Over the next few months I’ll be posting about the changes I’m making, and the new ideas I am implementing. One of the first things I have done is a little investment…

My new iMac!

My Macbook has been my constant companion for the last 3 or 4 years, and I used it throughout the last 2 years of my degree. When I graduated, I kept it going for my freelancing work, and then, when I went full time, I didn’t have enough money to invest in a new computer, so I had to keep the Macbook going.

It has served me well, we upgraded the memory, put a larger hard disk in and it ran all my design software, my ever expanding iTunes library, and all the fun and social bits and pieces that I use my computer for too.

At the beginning of this year, the cracks were starting to show, my software started to stop working, and the machine kept grinding to a halt. I rebuilt the computer and started to use my fiancee’s Macbook Pro more and more. It was starting to become unbearable, and even after a rebuild it was struggling.

In the last few weeks I have been organising my finances and found that I would be able to afford a new desktop  – fantastic news! The Macbook had got to the point where it would take me an hour to do twenty minutes work, and refused to work at all and crashed if I had more than 3 applications or programmes running. I had had enough.

So on Saturday, Gareth and I trundled off to the nearest Apple Store, and picked up a brand spanking new 21.5 inch iMac. Within a few hours it was home, up and running and I had transferred over all my data and applications. And it is so much quicker than before!

The Macbook is now rebuilt and acting as my back up computer, and for surfing the net. It seems much happier, it’s running faster than before, and hasn’t crashed yet. The iMac is shiny and new, and the screen is a pleasure to stare at.

I am one happy Graphic Designer.

TTFN,
Laura

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

