Tie the Knot

In October 2012 I married Gareth. I’d already decided that I wanted to make our invitations and orders of service, and over the months between the proposal and the wedding, I cut, pasted, printed, sketched and made the invitations. I scoured the internet and wedding fairs for inspiration (and even at times for invitations – when mine weren’t going according to plan!) but I couldn’t find what I wanted. A similar thing happened when I looked for Cake Toppers. Our wedding was at a little castle, followed by our reception at Brixham Yacht Club (where we met, fell in love and spend a lot of our time…) and there was a loose nautical theme to the wedding. I wanted paper boats on our tables (no problem – I can make those!) and spent a long time thinking about favours.

I’d seen hand painted wooden peg doll cake toppers, but I wanted something a bit different. All the ones I found were painted, so I made ours using wool for hair. My hair is red (bright red) and painting it on just didn’t look right, so I made it out of wool. My husband wears glasses, but when I painted them on the doll, they looked a little odd – like a panda rather than glasses, so I made them out of wire. I had been given a few swatches of my wedding dress to help match shoes etc. so I used these to make the dress on the cake topper. Gareth wore a blue suit, which I made out of tissue paper.

Our cake toppers

Our cake toppers

Cake toppers on the top of the cake

Cake toppers on the top of the cake

I got so carried away making these, I ended up making the favours in the same way. I bought loads of smaller peg dolls, and hand painted every one for each guest at our wedding. The bridesmaids and ushers got painted with their suits and dresses, and everyone else got a little suit or dress painted on, and due to time being a bit of an issue at the time, their hair was painted on rather than made from wool.

Everyone commented on the favours, most people still have theirs at home on display. I can’t think of a bigger compliment than that! Everyone asked me about my cake toppers, and a few months ago, I made some for my friends, Sarah and Dan who married in February. I had been working on some new designs to sell at the time, and this gave me the motivation to find some time and get this all up and running…

So, I have designed three basic styles – the Romantic, Bohemian and Traditional, all available as bride and groom, bride and bride or groom and groom. They are all available here on Etsy in my shop: Tietheknotwed.

Bohemian Couple

Bohemian Couple

Romantic Couple

Romantic Couple

Traditional Couple

Traditional Couple

Bohemian Couple

Bohemian Couple

Traditional Couple

Traditional Couple

You can also buy a custom designed set, and I will make both toppers to your spec, copying your dress, suit, flowers hairstyles etc.

I am now working on favours and invitations, and on an e-commerce site of it’s own… so keep your eyes peeled for more information, and if you or anyone you know is getting married, send them a link 😉

TTFN,
Laura

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

